Please click here if this newsletter looks incorrect


BTI Transformation Insights

19 December 2019

Analysis and research on governance, political regimes and economic policies from the Bertelsmann Stiftung’s Transformation Index (BTI).


Bulgaria’s EU Presidency

Normalizing Nationalism?

Some of the Bulgarian politicians who will preside over European meetings in Brussels in the first half of 2018 are nationalists. Is the EU to be blamed for letting them play a role on the European stage? Will the Bulgarian liberal-conservative majority be able to tame its patriotic coalition partner? read more


Season's Greetings

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

We wish you, our partners and readers, wonderful Christmas holidays and a happy, successful, and peaceful new year. We would like to particularly thank several hundred country experts for their immeasurable input, devotion and patience with the large-scale collaborative BTI effort. We look forward to releasing our 2020 edition in March, including the first ever BTI reports on Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Timor-Leste and Trinidad and Tobago. We would like to thank you for your continued interest in our work and look forward to continuing our exchanges in 2020.


You don't want to receive this newsletter anymore? Please click here.


You want to edit your newsletter profile or subscribe to more Bertelsmann Stiftung newsletters? Please click here.


We are looking forward to your questions and suggestions:


Yannik John

Project Manager

Sustainable Social Market Economies


Bertelsmann Stiftung

Carl-Bertelsmann-Straße 256

33311 Gütersloh

Phone: +49 5241 81 81263



The Bertelsmann Stiftung, based in Gütersloh, Germany, is a nonprofit, private

operating foundation in accordance with Section 1 of North Rhine-Westphalia's Foundation Law.

The district government of Detmold serves as its supervisory authority.

Founder: Reinhard Mohn

Chairman of the Board of Trustees: Prof. Dr. Werner J. Bauer

Executive Board: Dr. Ralph Heck (Chairman), Dr. Brigitte Mohn