Please click here if this newsletter looks incorrect


Asia Update

May 2017

Asia-related activities of Bertelsmann Stiftung and insights into important developments in the region.


Asia Briefing

"The China story – a case of fake history?"

The Bertelsmann Stiftung invites you to a discussion event with Frank Dikötter: The China story – a case of fake history? on Tuesday, May 16, 2017, from 18:00 – 20:00 (followed by a reception).

An old communist joke has it that Marxists can tell the future but find the past more difficult to predict. One-party states constantly rewrite their own history, if only because it legitimises the present. Frank Dikötter, professor of history at the University of Hong Kong and bestselling author, will critically discuss one of the most powerful narratives of our times: “the China story”. Please register here



Indian high-skilled migrants and international students in Germany

Similar to the US and UK, immigration from India plays an important role in Germany. India became the second most important country of origin of international students and the most important country of origin of high-skilled migrants in Germany in 2015. A new study of the Bertelsmann Stiftung conducted by the University of Bielefeld, examines motivations, intentions of stay and development effects of migration from India to Germany for economic and education purposes. Read the complete study here



You don't want to receive this newsletter anymore or want to edit your newsletter profile? Please click here.


Dr. Peter Walkenhorst

Senior Project Manager


Bertelsmann Stiftung

Carl-Bertelsmann-Str. 256

33311 Gütersloh


Tel: +49 5241 81-81172




The Bertelsmann Stiftung, based in Gütersloh, Germany, is a nonprofit, private

operating foundation in accordance with Section 1 of North Rhine-Westphalia's Foundation Law.

The district government of Detmold serves as its supervisory authority.

Founder: Reinhard Mohn

Chairman of the Board of Trustees: Prof. Dr. Werner J. Bauer

Executive Board: Dr. Ralph Heck (Chairman), Dr. Brigitte Mohn